Connecticut Hit-and-Run Accident Attorney
Any accident, no matter how minor, can be a traumatic event that leaves a person shaken. But when the accident is the fault of another driver, and that driver flees the scene, then not only are you faced with painful injuries, a long recovery, and steep medical bills, but there may not be anyone for you to hold accountable. Thankfully, Connecticut law protects victims of hit-and-run accidents, and an experienced personal injury attorney will be able to help you receive the compensation you need.
Committing a hit-and-run, also known as leaving the scene of an accident, is a crime. Under Connecticut law, a driver who is "Knowingly involved in an accident that causes injury or damage to property shall at once stop and render such assistance as may be needed." In addition, the driver must also supply his personal information, such as his name, address, and ID number. Failure to do so can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
The severity of the charge depends on how much damage was caused by the accident. A person who commits a hit-and-run that results in serious physical injury will generally be charged with a felony. A hit-and-run accident that causes minor injuries and property damage will be charged as a misdemeanor.
A person charged with a hit-and-run felony faces a minimum of one year in jail with a maximum of ten years, in addition to probation and a fine of up to $10,000. For a misdemeanor charge, the accused faces up to a year in jail, probation, and a fine of up to $600. It’s important to note that the criminal charge against the guilty person does not have a direct impact on the amount that you can be awarded in a personal injury lawsuit. Your compensation will be determined by the severity of your injuries and other pertinent facts.
What Rights Does a Victim Have?
The laws of Connecticut are designed to protect victims. In many instances, a perpetrator who has fled the scene of an accident will eventually be identified. This could be because he himself has decided to come forward, eyewitness accounts lead to his identification, or police detectives are able to solve the crime. In this case, you will be able to bring a civil suit against the at-fault driver.
Unfortunately, if you have been injured in a hit-and-run accident in which the driver is not identified, you may not have any way of being compensated by the negligent party. Still, even in this situation, there are ways to recover your losses.
Your automobile insurance will normally have a clause for accidents involving uninsured motorists (a driver without insurance coverage). In these instances, your insurance ends up covering you. Most of the time, this clause also applies to unidentified drivers as well, meaning that you will be protected in the event of a hit-and-run. Of course, this depends on your insurance company recognizing the claim and being willing to live up to their responsibilities.
Receive the Compensation You Deserve
No matter the situation, if you or a loved on has been the victim of a hit-and-run accident, you need an experienced personal injury attorney who can advocate on your behalf. It shouldn’t matter whether the driver has been identified. You deserve to be protected and have the resources you require during your rehabilitation.
The knowledgeable Connecticut car accident attorneys at Naizby Law have been representing individuals injured in automobile accidents for more than two decades. We’re willing to take a case all the way to conclusion to ensure you get the compensation you deserve. Call (203) 245-8500 today to schedule a free consultation.
Have you or a loved one been injured due to someone’s
negligence and want to seek compensation?
For over 20 years, John has exclusively represented people (not insurance companies).
John has received the America’s Top 100 Attorneys Lifetime Achievement Award.
Since the year 2000, John has been a Board Certified Civil Lawyer.
John is a graduate and senior instructor at the Trial Lawyers College.
Naizby Law Wins
See More Wins